BEAVERS' BEST OF 2011: Mitchell earns all-conference all four years

BEAVERS' BEST OF 2011: Mitchell earns all-conference all four years

FARMINGTON, Maine -- The duo of senior middle blocker Shannon Mitchell (Portsmouth, N.H.) and freshman libero Marina Tello (San Antonio, Texas) were named to the All-North Atlantic Conference Teams for women's volleyball as announced by the NAC this afternoon.

Shannon Mitchell
Marina Tello

Mitchell returned to the All-NAC First Team, while Tello was recognized on the All-NAC Second Team.

An all-conference honoree in each of her four seasons, Mitchell leads the Beavers with 213 kills and 47 total blocks. The senior is also second on the team in digs at 173 and third in service aces at 43.

Mitchell was named to the All-NAC First Team in 2009 and 2010 and the All-NAC Second Team in 2008.

Tello is tops on the team in digs with 251 and fourth in service aces with 39. The freshman has been honored four times as the NAC Rookie of the Week this season.

Husson University junior outside hitter Hannah Olstad was honored as the NAC Player of the Year, while Colby-Sawyer College libero Ally Le-Bruno was named the NAC Defensive Specialist of the Year and Maine Maritime Academy middle blocker Sydney Robertson was feted as the NAC Rookie of the Year.

Colby-Sawyer's Brett Sayer received NAC Coach of the Year with Johnson State College receiving the Team Sportsmanship Award.

The third-seeded Beavers (14-9) are scheduled to take on No. 2 Maine Maritime (22-4) in the NAC Semifinals Friday at Colby-Sawyer at 8 p.m.