Malloy & Duggan Earn Post Season Honors

Malloy & Duggan Earn Post Season Honors

Lyndon senior Mikayla Hodge (Newbury, Vt.) has been selected as the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Women's Basketball Player of the Year, while Castleton senior Ashlie Fay(Monkton, Vt.) was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Spartan teammate Brooke Raiche (Ira, Vt.) was tabbed Rookie of the Year. UMaine-Farmington's Cheyenne Malloy(Skowhegan, Maine) was voted the Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Castleton head coach Tim Barrett was chosen as the Coach of the Year and ten women's basketball student-athletes were named to the Sportsmanship Team to headline the 2018 All-Conference announcement.

Malloy is being recognized for excelling academically and athletically throughout her undergraduate experience. She is majoring in Rehabilitation Services and plans to attend graduate school for occupational therapy. The senior is a leading example of what it means to be a Division III student-athlete by making the most out of her time in the classroom and serving as a positive example on the court. She is a Dean's list honoree and is on the pre-professional track to prepare herself for graduate school entrance requirements. Malloy completed an internship this past summer at North West Disability Services in Australia and in the summer of 2016 she completed an internship at Red Skye in Connecticut working with adults with mental illness. She would like to open her own practice one day and use animal-assisted therapy with her patients. On the court, she recorded 407 points, 138 rebounds, 79 assists, 34 steals and four blocks.

Joining Hodge on the All-NAC First Team were Castleton seniors, forward Amanda Beatty (Williston, Vt.) and guard Makayla Farrara (Shaftsbury, Vt.), Husson junior guard Kenzie Worcester (Washburn, Maine), and Maine Maritime junior forward Alayne Felix (Mahopac, N.Y.).

Second team selections include Colby-Sawyer sophomore guard Lexie Hamilton (Sunapee, N.H.), senior forward Emmani Robinson (Newburgh, N.Y.) and sophomore forward Tianna Sugars (Oxford, Maine), Husson sophomore center Sami Ireland (Howland, Maine), and New England College sophomore guard Rene Hudson (Gallatin, Tenn.).

The NAC Women's Basketball Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the basketball culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette. The following ten individuals have been selected to the 2018 Sportsmanship Team, Castleton senior Taylor Raiche (Ira, Vt.), Colby-Sawyer's Robinson, UMaine-Farmington senior Emma Duggan (Lancaster, Mass.), Green Mountain junior Mercedes Rideout (Nashville, Tenn.), Husson senior Anna MacKenzie (Plymouth, Maine), Johnson senior Sabrina Roberge (Irasburg, Vt.), Lyndon junior Victoria Carlson (East Haven, Conn.), Maine Maritime sophomore Melinda Ogden (Searsport, Maine), New England College sophomore Haleigh Martin (Bergenfield, N.J.), and Thomas sophomore Malorie Weaver (Palermo, Maine).


2018 Women's Basketball All-Conference Teams
To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE.  

First Team
F - Amanda Beatty, Senior, Castleton
G - Makayla Farrara, Senior, Castleton
F - Alayne Felix, Junior, Maine Maritime
C - Mikayla Hodge, Senior, Lyndon
G - Kenzie Worcester, Junior, Husson 


Second Team
G - Lexie Hamilton, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
G - Rene Hudson, Sophomore, New England College
C - Sami Ireland, Sophomore, Husson
F - Emmani Robinson, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
F - Tianna Sugars, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer 


Player of the Year of the Year
Mikayla Hodge, Senior, Lyndon
Defensive Player of the Year
Ashlie Fay, Senior, Castleton
Rookie of the Year
Brooke Raiche, Freshman, Castleton
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Cheyenne Malloy, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
Coach of the Year
Tim Barrett, 17th Season, Castleton 


Sportsmanship Team
Victoria Carlson, Junior, Lyndon
Emma Duggan, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
Anna MacKenzie, Senior, Husson
Haleigh Martin, Sophomore, New England College
Melinda Ogden, Sophomore, Maine Maritime
Taylor Raiche, Senior, Castleton
Mercedes Rideout, Junior, Green Mountain
Sabrina Roberge, Senior, Johnson
Emmani Robinson, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Malorie Weaver, Sophomore, Thomas