Sands and Hollis Earn Post Season Accolades

Sands and Hollis Earn Post Season Accolades

UMaine-Farmington freshman Jeremiah Sands (Falmouth, Maine), completed the 8k course in 26:44.7, which earned him NAC Rookie of the Year. Sands, a four-time NAC Rookie of the Week honoree, finished as the runner-up at the 2017 NAC Championship to help the UMaine-Farmington men's cross country team to a third-place finish. He claimed second out of 85 runners crossing the line in 26:44.7. Prior to the conference championship, he recorded four top-nine finishes this season, including a first-place finish at the UMF Invitational with a time of 16:50. The rookie also tallied two runner-up honors at the Bowdoin Invitational (26:23) and the Runnin' Monks Invitational (29:12). Sands placed ninth at the Maine State Championship (26:21.8), while also finishing 38th at the highly competitive UMass Dartmouth Invitational (26:28). 

Joining Sands and Smith on the All-Conference First Team were Castleton freshman Gannon McKearin (Proctor, Vt.), Colby-Sawyer sophomores Peter Bakker(Barkhamsted, Conn.) and Ben Jones (Enfield, N.H.) and junior Bruin Smith (Cohoes, N.Y.), UMaine-Farmington senior Robbie Hollis (Auburn, Maine) and Thomas sophomore Jarrod Ottman (Merrimack, N.H.). 

Hollis was also named to the 2017 NAC Sportsmanship Team.

2017 NAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE.

Grandon Smith, Senior, Castleton
Jeremiah Sands, Freshman, UMaine-Farmington
Peter Bakker, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Gannon McKearin, Freshman, Castleton
Jarrod Ottman, Sophomore, Thomas
Ben Jones, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Bruin Smith, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Robbie Hollis, Senior, UMaine-Farmington 

Kyle Hajj, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer
Zach Hartman, Freshman, Husson
Aylen Wolf, Freshman, Maine Maritime
Justin Whittaker, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Benjamin Cornell, Junior, Lyndon
Jared Wheeler, Sophomore, Castleton
Zak Kinsman, Senior, Maine Maritime 

Runner of the Year
Grandon Smith, Senior, Castleton
Rookie of the Year
Jeremiah Sands, Freshman, UMaine-Farmington
Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year
John Brigante, Senior, Maine Maritime
Coach of the Year
Lyndsay Ostler, Sixth Season, Colby-Sawyer 

Sportsmanship Team
Brian Corrigan, Sophomore, Lyndon
Jacob Greenia, Senior, Johnson
Robbie Hollis, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
Gary Kargakos, Senior, New England College
Keenan Martin, Sophomore, Maine Maritime  
Jacob Nelson, Senior, Green Mountain 
Saul Nunez, Senior, UMaine-Presque Isle
Bruin Smith, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Grandon Smith, Senior, Castleton
Dillon Sullivan, Junior, Thomas
Patrick Welch, Sophomore, Husson