Martineau, Stemm, Nightingale and Winslow Claim Post Season Honors

Martineau, Stemm, Nightingale and Winslow Claim Post Season Honors

The 2018 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) is pleased to announce the 2018 Field Hockey All-Conference Honors. Torrie Nightingale of UMaine-Farmington earned the prestigious Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Kelci Faulkingham, Thomas College, is the Player of the Year and her teammate Tiffany Weeks is the Defensive Player of the Year. Coaches selected Husson University freshman Haley Ward as the Rookie of the Year.

Thomas College head coach Andrea Theberge is the Coach of the Year, and three student-athletes were named to the Sportsmanship Team to headline the 2018 All-Conference announcement.

Head field hockey coaches vote for the All-Conference awards, and Faculty Athletic Representatives also vote for the Senior Scholar-Athlete honors.



The 2018 NAC Field Hockey Player of the Year is junior midfielder Kelci Faulkingham of Thomas College. Faulkingham started all 18 games for the Terriers and is among the conference statistical leaders in points (17/fourth), shots (41/fourth), goals (6/fifth) and assists (5/third). She is an extreme presence on the field and a key playmaker for Thomas, a team that is undefeated in NAC play and 11-7 overall. She is the number one shooter on offensive corners and runs the defensive corner unit as well.  A First Team All-Conference selection, Faulkingham was awarded the NAC Player of the Week honors (September 30) for consistently strong play, including one of her two game-winning goals. The Terriers head in the semifinal round with the No. 1 NAC seed and the regular season title.


The 2018 NAC Field Hockey Defensive Player of the Year is Thomas Terrier, Tiffany Weeks. Weeks transitioned from a starting forward position in 2017 to anchoring the back for Thomas, a team undefeated in conference play this year. She is the backbone of the defensive unit that allowed only 1.65 goals per game and is credited with three defensive saves. Weeks was recognized as the NAC Defensive Player of the Week three times this season (September 2, October 14 & 21). A First Team All-Conference player, she is also one of the go-to shooters on corners, notching four goals (one game-winner) and setting up another for nine points from a defensive position. Weeks leads Thomas into the semifinal round as they look to capture the first Field Hockey championship title with the NECC.


The 2018 NAC Field Hockey Rookie of the Year is freshman Haley Ward of Husson University. Twice awarded the NAC Rookie of the Week honors, Ward is among the league leaders in shots (42/third), points (16/fifth), and goals (7/fourth). She started the season at midfield but earned a spot on the forward line with her offensive leadership and skills. Ward started all 15 games for the Eagles and landed 31 of 42 shots on net (.738). The First Team All-Conference forward is credited with one game-winning goal and was a key part of the first round win for Husson that launched them into the semifinals. 

The 2018 NAC Field Hockey Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year is UMaine-Farmington Beaver Torrie Nightingale. A six-time Dean's List student, Nightingale maintains a 3.978 GPA studying Elementary Education with a concentration in Social Sciences and a minor in Special Education. She is a part of the Honor's program at Farmington and was a National Field Hockey Coaches Association Scholar of Distinction recipient each of her first three seasons. Nightingale started all 15 games for Farmington and anchored the defensive unit. She is credited with four defensive saves and also contributed two goals and two assists to the team effort. Six of her seven shots hit on net for an .857 shots-on-goal percentage. Nightingale was named the Defensive Player of the Week ending October 28 and is a First Team All-Conference player.


Thomas College head coach Andrea Thebarge is the 2018 NAC Field Hockey Coach of the Year. Thebarge leads a team that swept the NAC Weekly awards six weeks out of nine and had 19 individual weekly accolades total. Four players were selected to the First Team All-Conference, including the Player and Defensive Player of the year in Faulkingham and Weeks. The Terriers scored 45 goals over 18 games (2.5 goals per game) while only allowing 30 goals to hit the boards (1.65 goals-against average). Thomas did not drop a conference game all year (11-7 overall, 4-0 NAC), and earned the NAC regular season Championship title. This is the first NAC Coach of the Year honor for Thebarge as she leads the team into a semifinal matchup in the NECC field hockey championship tournament.


Eleven players were selected to the All-Conference First Team. Joining Faulkingham, Weeks, Ward and Nightingale are Sadie Royer, Karen Stemm and Allison Leighton of Husson; Emma Martineau & Andrea Stemm of UMaine Farmington; and Britney Gregoire & MacKenzie Oberholzer of Thomas College.


The NAC Field Hockey Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees have positively affected the field hockey culture and environment, and clearly demonstrate sportsmanship and integrity.


2018 NAC Field Hockey All-Conference Teams

First Team All-Conference      
F- Sadie Royer Senior Greene, Maine Husson University
F- Haley Ward Freshman Winslow, Maine Husson University
F- Britney Gregoire Freshman Kennebunk, Maine Thomas College
F- Emma Martineau Senior Greene, Maine UMaine-Farmington
M- Karen Stemm Sophomore Gorham, Maine Husson University
M- Kelci Faulkingham Junior Belfast, Maine Thomas College
M- Andrea Stemm Senior Gorham, Maine UMaine-Farmington
D - Allison Leighton Senior Oakland, Maine Husson University
D- Tiffany Weeks Senior Kennebunk, Maine Thomas College
D- Torrie Nightingale Senior Bangor, Maine UMaine-Farmington
GK- MacKenzie Oberholzer Sophomore Hancock, Maryland Thomas College
Player of the Year      
Kelci Faulkingham Junior Belfast, Maine Thomas College
Defensive Player of the Year      
Tiffany Weeks Senior Kennebunk, Maine Thomas College
Rookie of the Year      
Haley Ward Freshman Winslow, Maine Husson University
Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year      
Torrie Nightingale Senior Bangor, Maine UMaine-Farmington
Coach of the Year      
Andrea Theberge     Thomas College
Sportsmanship Team      
Gabriella Winslow Senior Parsonsfield, Maine UMaine-Farmington
Kolby Kain Junior Parkman, Maine Husson University
Allison Hughes Freshman Pittsfield, Maine Thomas College


Click HERE to download a pdf list of All-Conference honorees.