Five Beavers Earn Post Season Honors

Five Beavers Earn Post Season Honors

UMaine-Farmington senior Tyler Flayhan (Sanford, Maine) was chosen as the Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year, while the Beavers' head coach Chris Bessey was voted as the Coach of the Year and seven baseball student-athletes were named to the Sportsmanship Team to headline the 2018 All-Conference announcement. New England College junior Xavier Nunez (Lawrence, Mass.) has been selected as the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Baseball Player of the Year, while teammates, junior Nick Powers(Malden, Mass.) and freshman Shayne Audet (Springfield, Mass.) were named Pitcher of the Year and Rookie of the Year.

NAC All-Conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.


Flayhan is being recognized for excelling academically and athletically throughout his undergraduate experience while serving as a role model in both the classroom and on the field. The scholar-athlete is studying Community Health Education, has made the Dean's List every semester, is a member of Eta Sigma Gamma, and is an SI Tutor. The two-time NAC All-Academic Team honoree plans to become a teacher and coach after he graduates. Flayhan will student teach both health and physical education in his hometown at Sanford Middle School next fall. On the field, he was the Beavers starting center fielder last season but transitioned over to catcher this year as his team needed a leader behind the plate. He also stepped up his game at the plate this season, recording 20 hits, 14 runs scored, 11 RBI, four doubles, and two stolen bases. In his career, he has 41 hits, 27 runs, 21 RBI, 20 walks, seven doubles and three stolen bases.


Bessey, in his eighth season at the helm of the Beavers, has been voted by his peers to earn his second Coach of the Year honor (2014). His squad posted a 13-19 overall record and a 10-13 mark in conference play, an eight-game improvement from a year ago, including five more wins in conference action. UMF finished in the top-three of the conference in home runs (9) and triples (5). The Beavers were one of the toughest teams to strike out, posting a league second-best 177 strikeouts, while drawing 78 walks. His team also posted 229 hits, 134 runs, 117 RBI, 32 doubles, and 30 stolen bases. On the mound, his squad gave up a league-low 79 walks and is tied for first allowing 242 hits on the season. Defensively, UMF is first in the lowest amount of errors (41) and third in fielding percentage (.957).

Joining Nunez (3B) and Powers (P) on the first team were Castleton juniors, outfielder Dillon Benham (Lenox, Mass.) and pitcher Joe Gratton (Pittsfield, Mass.), senior catcher Jonathan Lindau (Middletown, N.Y.) and sophomore first baseman Davis Mikell (Williston, Vt.), Colby-Sawyer senior second baseman Doug Avellino (Woodstock, Vt.), Lyndon senior outfielder Andre Eason Jr. (Waterbury, Conn.) and New England College senior shortstop Justin Carey (Amherst, Mass.), sophomore utility player Jameson Carey (Amherst, Mass.) and junior outfielder Evan Delaney (Hadley, Mass.).

Second team selections include NEC's Audet (P), Castleton junior third baseman Mitchell Caron (Augusta, Maine), Colby-Sawyer senior outfielder Brendan Thurber (Ashland, Mass.), UMaine-Farmington seniors, second baseman Nick Attaliades-Ryan (Otisfield, Maine) and outfielder Riley Chickering (Otisfield, Maine), Lyndon senior shortstop Ryan Cordeiro(Rollinsford, N.H.), juniors, utility player Jason Doris (Lincoln, R.I.) and pitcher James Mundy (Brentwood, N.H.), sophomore outfielder Codi Smith (Hartford, Vt.) and freshman catcher Ryder Thorton (Essex, Vt.) and Thomas senior first baseman Alex Curtis (Monmouth, Maine).

The NAC Baseball Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the baseball culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that goes beyond the playing rules and etiquette. The following seven individuals have been selected to the 2018 Sportsmanship Team, Castleton senior Aaron Smith (Middlebury, Vt.), Colby-Sawyer senior Drew Inglesi(Franklin, Mass.), UMaine-Farmington senior Nate Pushard (Auburn, Maine), Husson senior Tommy Burns (Eddington, Maine), Lyndon senior Collin Clark (Rutland, Vt.), New England College senior Ryan Swarts (Ware, Mass.) and Thomas' Curtis.

2018 NAC Baseball All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE

First Team
C - Jonathan Lindau, Senior, Castleton
1B - Davis Mikell, Sophomore, Castleton
2B - Doug Avellino, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
SS - Justin Carey, Senior, New England College
3B - Xavier Nunez, Junior, New England College
UT - Jameson Carey, Sophomore, New England College
OF - Dillon Benham, Junior, Castleton
OF - Evan Delaney, Junior, New England College
OF - Andre Eason Jr., Senior, Lyndon
P - Joe Gratton, Junior, Castleton
P - Nick Powers, Junior, New England College 

Second Team
C - Ryder Thorton, Freshman, Lyndon
1B - Alex Curtis, Senior, Thomas
2B - Nick Attaliades-Ryan, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
SS - Ryan Cordeiro, Senior, Lyndon
3B - Mitchell Caron, Junior, Castleton
UT - Jason Doris, Junior, Lyndon
OF - Riley Chickering, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
OF - Codi Smith, Sophomore, Lyndon
OF - Brendan Thurber, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
P - Shayne Audet, Freshman, New England College
P - James Mundy, Junior, Lyndon 

Player of the Year
Xavier Nunez, Junior, New England College
Pitcher of the Year
Nick Powers, Junior, New England College
Rookie of the Year
Shayne Audet, Freshman, New England College
Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Tyler Flayhan, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
Coach of the Year
Chris Bessey, Seventh Season, UMaine-Farmington 

Sportsmanship Team
Tommy Burns, Senior, Husson
Collin Clark, Senior, Lyndon
Alex Curtis, Senior, Thomas
Drew Inglesi, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Nate Pushard, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
Aaron Smith, Senior, Castleton
Ryan Swarts, Senior, New England College